VDPHL01 is minoxidil, the same molecule that has been on pharmacy shelves for decades, rebuilt as a tablet that releases it slowly. It is not approved for hair loss anywhere in the world, it cannot be bought, and the trial that decides whether it gets filed with regulators has not reported yet. What makes it worth a page is that it is the closest thing in the hair loss pipeline to an actual result: three registrational trials are fully enrolled, and the confirmatory one in men is expected to read out in the second half of 2026.
If you are already taking oral minoxidil off-label, which many people are, this is not a new drug so much as a new packaging of the drug you are on. That makes the tracking question immediate rather than hypothetical, and it is the part of this story you can act on today.
What has changed
- 8 September 2026. Study 304 has not reported. The most recent milestone on record is the April 2026 completion of the Study 302 topline readout, which the sponsor described as positive without publishing figures.
TL;DR
- VDPHL01 is an extended-release oral minoxidil tablet from Veradermics. No oral minoxidil is approved for hair loss in any country, and this one is no exception.
- Three registrational trials are fully enrolled: Study 302 and Study 304 in men, Study 306 in women. All three are on ClinicalTrials.gov and all three are linked below.
- The Study 302 6-month topline readout completed in April 2026 and the sponsor called it positive. It has published no numbers, no journal has carried it, and no results are posted to the registry, so this post prints no effect sizes.
- Study 304, the confirmatory trial in men, is the one to watch. Its 6-month topline is anticipated in the second half of 2026.
- Minoxidil taken by mouth acts on the whole body, not only the scalp. The measurements worth having before any of this lands are blood pressure, resting heart rate, ankle swelling, unwanted hair, and a density baseline that makes an early shed readable.
Important
This article is educational and not medical advice. If you are worried about sudden shedding, scalp symptoms, or side effects, talk to a licensed clinician.
What VDPHL01 actually is
Minoxidil started as a blood pressure drug and its effect on hair was noticed as a side effect. The topical version most people know was developed to put the drug where the hair is and keep it away from everything else. Taking it as a tablet reverses that: the drug reaches the follicles, and it reaches everything else too.
VDPHL01 is Veradermics’ attempt to change the shape of that exposure rather than the molecule. The company describes it as using a proprietary extended-release technology to spread the drug’s exposure to hair follicles over a longer window than an immediate-release tablet gives. The claim being tested is not that minoxidil works, which is settled, but that a slower release is a better way to deliver it and a version that can clear regulatory review for this use.
That second half matters more than it sounds. Every person taking oral minoxidil for hair loss today is taking a blood pressure tablet off-label, at doses and in a context no regulator has reviewed for this purpose. An approved product would come with a label, a reviewed safety profile for this use, and a dose the maker has actually studied for it. It would also arrive at a price set by a company rather than by a generic market, which is a real trade-off and not a detail.
Where the trials stand
Three trials carry the programme, and each has a registry record you can read yourself rather than a press summary of it.
- Study 302. A Phase 2/3 trial in 480 men, NCT06724614. Its 6-month topline readout completed in April 2026 and the sponsor reported it as positive.
- Study 304. A confirmatory Phase 3 in 480 men, NCT06972264. Fully enrolled, with its 6-month topline anticipated in the second half of 2026. This is the readout that matters, because a confirmatory trial is what a regulator asks for before a filing.
- Study 306. A Phase 3 in 552 women, NCT07146022. Women have never had an oral prescription option approved for pattern hair loss, so this is the arm with the most to change.
A trial reading out positive is not the same as a drug being available. After a confirmatory result come a submission, a regulatory review, manufacturing and a launch, and each of those has historically taken longer than people expect. Where this sits against everything else in development is on the pipeline status board, which carries a dated row for each candidate.
Why there are no numbers in this post
You will find specific response rates for Study 302 quoted widely, and you will not find them here. Every one of them traces back to trade coverage or to a company investor page, neither of which can be opened by an automated request, and none of them traces to a journal or to results posted on the registry. A figure whose origin cannot be checked is a figure that should not be repeated on a page people use to make a decision.
This is not a criticism of the result. Topline announcements routinely precede publication by a year or more, and the trials themselves are large and registered. It is a statement about what is currently knowable. When Study 304 reads out, the same test applies: if the numbers arrive with a source anyone can open, they go in this post with the citation attached.
What to track, and why these five
This part is not speculative, because the safety profile of minoxidil taken by mouth has been described in people already taking it. Two sources carry it: Vañó-Galván and colleagues, 2021, on 1,404 patients across multiple centres, and Liu and colleagues, 2025, pooling the published trials in a systematic review and meta-analysis. The effects those describe are the ones worth having a baseline for. Nothing below is a dose, a schedule or a recommendation to take anything; it is a list of measurements.
- Blood pressure. Minoxidil lowers it, which is what it was built to do. If you have a home cuff, a handful of readings taken the same way on different days before anything changes is worth far more than a single reading afterwards, because you will otherwise have nothing to compare against.
- Resting heart rate. A rise in resting heart rate is among the more commonly reported effects. Almost any watch or fitness band already logs this continuously, so the baseline usually exists already and only needs looking at.
- Ankle swelling. Fluid retention shows up in the ankles and lower legs first, and it is easy to miss because it arrives gradually. A photo of your own ankles at the end of a normal day, before anything starts, is a better comparison than a memory of what they usually look like.
- Hair where you do not want it. Increased hair growth on the face, forearms and the rest of the body is the trade-off of a systemic drug that grows hair, and it is the effect that most often leads people to stop. Note what is normal for you first.
- Shedding at weeks four to eight. Minoxidil of any kind commonly causes a temporary increase in shedding early on, as follicles are pushed through their cycle faster. Without a density baseline this reads as the treatment making things worse, and it is the single most common reason people abandon something in the first two months.
Four of those five are things you would take to a doctor, not decide on alone. The fifth is the one where a record beats a memory, and it is the same problem as tracking hair loss in general: coverage changes too slowly to perceive, so the only way to read an early shed correctly is against a measurement you took before it started.
What to look for when Study 304 reports
A topline announcement is a paragraph, and the useful questions are usually answered by what it leaves out. Three are worth holding onto.
- Does it name the effect size? Trials in this area are usually judged on target area hair count, meaning hairs per square centimetre in one fixed patch. An announcement that reports the endpoint was met without saying by how much is not yet a result you can compare against anything.
- How does it compare with what people already take? The comparison in the trial is against placebo, because that is what a regulator requires. The comparison you would care about is against ordinary oral minoxidil, and no trial on this programme is designed to answer it.
- What does the safety half say? The argument for a slower release is not that it grows more hair. It is that the exposure profile is gentler. That claim lives in the safety data rather than the efficacy headline.
Common questions
Can I get VDPHL01 now?
No. It has not been submitted to any regulator, let alone approved, and the confirmatory trial in men has not reported. Anywhere offering to sell it is not selling the reviewed product, and there is no reviewed product to sell.
Is this different from the oral minoxidil people already take?
The molecule is the same. What differs is the release profile and the regulatory path: the tablets people take off-label today are blood pressure medication being used for something it was not approved for, while VDPHL01 is being studied specifically for pattern hair loss. Whether the slower release makes a difference a person would notice is exactly what the trials are for, and it is not yet answered. If you are weighing tablets against a bottle, that decision is covered in oral versus topical minoxidil.
Should I wait for it?
That is a question for a doctor who knows your situation, but the arithmetic is worth seeing plainly. Pattern hair loss is progressive, so follicles lost during a wait are not returned by a launch, and the nearest realistic availability for anything in this pipeline is years rather than months. What you can do independently of the decision is start a dated record now, so that whatever you eventually take can be judged against something rather than against a memory of how your hair used to look.
Would this be the first approved oral treatment for women?
Study 306 is a Phase 3 in 552 women, and no oral prescription therapy has been approved for female pattern hair loss. Whether it becomes the first depends on a trial that is still running and a review that has not begun, so the honest answer today is that it is the trial to watch rather than an outcome to expect.
Next step
Nothing on this page is available to try, so the useful action is the one that pays off whenever something does arrive. Capture the three standard zones now and repeat them monthly. A person with two years of consistent photographs can tell within a couple of months whether a new treatment did anything. A person starting from scratch on launch day cannot.
Sources: Veradermics pipeline: Studies 302, 304 and 306 | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06724614 (Study 302) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT06972264 (Study 304) | ClinicalTrials.gov NCT07146022 (Study 306) | Vañó-Galván et al. (2021) J Am Acad Dermatol: safety of low-dose oral minoxidil in 1,404 patients | Liu et al. (2025) Front Pharmacol: oral minoxidil in alopecia, systematic review and meta-analysis.
